2011 Congress

5th Weald Chess Congress Results – July 16th-17th 2011

Thanks to Copthorne Prep. School for the spacious venue, and to our Tournament Controllers Sue Howell (ECF Arbiter) and Andrea Cumming who both gave up their weekend voluntarily. Also to the many SJC regulars who helped with setting up and clearing up. As a non-profit making event we gratefully acknowledge the kind donations received from so many competitors. Any surplus funds will be used to improve the event for next year and for the support of junior chess in Sussex.

3 generations from one family all competing
The BBQ continued despite the rain
David Archer celebrates his birthday
1stPeter KempAlan HaywardMelusi NkomoCallum Brewer
Giles Critchley
Michael Ngulube
2ndPhilip Bonafont
Dave Graham
George O’Toole
James StaytMorgan Blake 
3rd Trefor Owens
Paul Smith
Scott Borland
Nigel Norman
David Wallis
Grading PrizesDavid Onley
Jasdeep Gahir
Matthew Payne
Robert Fisher
Marko Kozyk
Richard Barrowclough
Colin Gardiner
Stephen Rees
Brian Stockham
Ollie Willson
Michael Stockham (U100)
Emmanuel Wong (U90)
Edward Critchley (U80)
David Duff (U70)
Sussex Champions
Sussex U18 George Self CupSussex U14 Brian Denman CupSussex Girls Anne Gammans Cup
George SalimbeniDaniel SuttonAmy Hoare